7 Minute Miles

Minnesota Election 2006

Posted Saturday, October 7th, 2006 04:35 pm GMT -5 in Politics

When I was growing up, there were two taboo topics: politics and religion. Both were considered private, personal decisions and talking about them in public was just not done. In some ways, I wish more people still felt this way, but then again, some issues are too important to keep quiet about.

With the elections rapidly approaching, it’s time to become informed about the choices we have on November 7th. Personally, I consider myself an independent voter (small “i”) that likes to look at each race or issue, do my research and be ready to make informed choices on election day. I’m not a fan of the party system and would really like to see all of the local and state offices be non-partisan, but that will never happen with the major parties in charge of making the rules.

Minnesota has always had high voter participation rates, but I was surprised to find how difficult it was to find information about the 2006 election. After a great deal of searching, I finally found the Secretary of State’s registered candidate search page. The big metro newspaper sites (Star Tribune and Pioneer Press) still have primary results featured and links to the candidates are hard to find. The League of Women Voters and MyBallot.net have decent information, but they are not comprehensive and don’t have all of the local items that will appear on the ballot.

Here is a summary of what I’ve been able to find so far, along with links to more information:

U.S. Senate

U.S. House of Representatives – 2nd District

  • Douglas Williams – Independence Party (Phone: 952-448-2028)
  • John Kline – Republican Party (Incumbent)
  • Coleen Rowley – Democratic-Farmer-Labor Pary

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

Minnesota Secretary of State

Minnesota State Auditor

Minnesota Attorney General

Proposed Minnesota Constitutional Amendment

  • Shall the Minnesota Constitution be amended to dedicate revenue from a tax on the sale of new and used motor vehicles over a five-year period, so that after June 30, 2011, all of the revenue is dedicated at least 40 percent for public transit assistance and not more than 60 percent for highway purposes?
  • Vote Yes Supporters – Minnesotans for Better Roads and Transit
  • Vote No Supporters – Education Minnesota

Minnesota Judicial Races

Minnesota Judicial Unopposed Seats

  • Associate Justice, Supreme Court 1: Barry Anderson (incumbent)
  • Court of Appeals 6: Renee L. Worke (incumbent)
  • Court of Appeals 7: Jill Flaskamp Halbrooks (incumbent)
  • Court of Appeals 12: Gordon W. Shumaker (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 2: Robert F. Carolan (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 4: Jean Ann Davies (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 6: David L. Knutson (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 10: Diane M. Hanson (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 14: Michael J. Mayer (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 18: William E. Macklin (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 19: Leslie M. Metzen (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 20: Kathryn D. Messerich (incumbent)
  • 1st District Court, Seat 29: Terry E. Conkel (incumbent)

Minnesota Senate – District 38

Minnesota House – District 38A

Eagan Mayor

Eagan City Council

Dakota County Attorney

  • James C. Backstrom (Incumbent) – unopposed

Dakota County Sheriff

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor

  • District 1: Michael Pliml (Incumbent) vs. Scott A. Holm
  • District 3: Kevin Chamberlain (Incumbent) – unopposed
  • Candidate Statements (Fall 2006 DCSWCD Newsletter)

Get informed. Do your research. Vote November 7th…DK

Originally published by DK on October 7, 2006 at 4:35 pm

DK on Twitter DK on Facebook DK on Instagram Email DK 7 Minute Miles RSS Feed
Mobile: 612.224.5422

Looking for something?